Help you help yourself – an entrepreneurial lesson

Once upon a time I blogged about how awesome it is to be an entrepreneur and also the challenges I face on a daily basis. I promised to share some of these with you, but I have failed taken my time to get to it (it is a swear word in the entrepreneurial world to use the “f” word – you don’t fail, you just change direction).

Well, dear readers, here is the deal right now. This is me:

http://www.mythicrhythm.com/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/FrazzledCat.jpg

I know it is hard to tell, but if you look closely you will see it. I did this to myself.

I am an accountant, bookkeeper, secretary, copywriter, web designer, graphic designer, social media strategist, social media community manager, web developer, marketing strategist, business owner, freelancer, advertiser, media agency, relationship manager, account manager, business analyst, salesman, missing aunt and birthday-forgetting friend.

A friend asked me recently what the most difficult part of being an entrepreneur is and this is my answer: ‘Coming to terms with the fact that you can’t do everything yourself’. When it is your own business and your passion, it is so difficult to hand over responsibility of any part of it to someone else. You don’t think that they can care about it as much as you do. You don’t trust other people with your “child”.

So here’s the first lesson at entrepreneur school: “You can’t do everything yourself”. Find trusted partners and suppliers and build those relationships. That way, you can feel comfortable to hand over what others are capable of doing for you. It seems expensive at first, and when you’re starting out you really don’t have the money to outsource anything. The key is to understand what you can outsource, exactly what it costs, trust your supplier and build it into your costs to your client.

I’m by no means there yet, but at least I’ve learnt this lesson and am taking steps to get there.

*Cue: Someone buy me a freaking drink.

One response to “Help you help yourself – an entrepreneurial lesson

Leave a Reply

