Outside of the Corporate Cocoon – what it’s like

Having been in the corporate world and then ventured out on my own, people always ask me what it’s like on “the other side of the fence”. I like to think of it more like “outside of the corporate cocoon”.

I do miss my stable corporate salary from time to time, and perhaps the free stationery and year-end parties. Yes, I miss those things.

I don’t miss the political BS, the STATIC salary, having to put my bum in the same seat every day and all day (regardless of whether or not my bum on the seat was creating productivity), power-hungry execs, having to “put in leave” and have my decisions approved.

I guess that I am just not cut out for that kind of lifestyle and there is some sort of fire inside me that makes me reject it so deeply. I struggled for a long time to figure out what that fire was and why I can’t just be happy with my bum in that seat, and I now know that that fire is entrepreneurship. Some of us have it and it is an exciting quality to explore.

I went to a Google for Entrepreneurs event recently where one of the key speakers, Enzo Kumahor, said “If you’re an entrepreneur, you just know.” There is a lot to do with gut feel and “just knowing” where you should be going. It was fantastic to have someone corroborate thoughts that I have had that I thought nobody else understood.

Stop using can't

Entrepreneurship allows me to grow in which ever direction I choose, make my own decisions and act on them immediately. The opportunities are endless and the thought that I can do anything I want (if I want to) provides breathing space that the corporate cocoon cannot. I no longer have a “role”. I hate that word. I have a purpose. Defined by me.

I’ll write more about my experience along the way. At least you’ll get an honest account here of the highs and lows and I hope that I inspire you to think about where you are right now and if it works for you. We are the only people who can change things for ourselves.

Leave a Reply

