We Are One Colour Festival, Joburg-style

In case you have been living under a rock, Joburg has been buzzing with We Are One Festival talk. The event took place yesterday afternoon at Emmarentia Dam and painted the usually quiet park into a bright and vibrant festival of colour and music.

A simple Google search will show you more than enough form the festival, but here is my take, seeing that I have not done an event review in a while.

The event is based loosely on the Hindu Holi Festival, which celebrates ‘the season of bloom’ and is also a religious celebration, dubbed ‘The Festival of Colour’. The main feature of the We Are One event was colour explosions of brightly coloured powder on the hour, every hour, while EDM DJ’s entertain the masses all afternoon.

Awesome!

Hands down, the messiest (and most colourful) festival I have ever attended, it was loads of fun getting down and dirty with the coloured powder. As the first one in Johannesburg, it went down very well. The bar and toilet situation was… well… less than desirable, though, so I’m hoping that gets a bit more attention next year and I’ll be more than happy to go again! Give me a VIP section and I’ll be over the moon…

Other than feeling like I’d snorted rainbows all day yesterday, I thoroughly enjoyed the afternoon of colour and madness.

As for the religious outrages about this event, it was not a religious festival, it was an afternoon of madness and colour with some EDM going down too. No need to get all uppity about it. Merely a very cool party with a very cool theme.

Not a lot of pics from me this time, I’m afraid – my dainty little white iPhone did not cope very well in the powder storms, but seeing the photography that came out of the day yesterday is phenomenal!

Explosions of colour at the We Are One festival in Johanesburg

Explosions of colour at the We Are One festival in Johannesburg

Leave a Reply

