GoThai Day 2: To Kantiang Bay, Koh Lanta

Most of the day spent travelling to Koh Lanta from Krabi, I was not quite sure what to expect and just hoping to get away from all the goddamn tourists!

Friendly and welcoming, Kantiang Bay is just what I was hoping for. None of the tourist hype, very laid back and relaxed and just plain simple chilling.

   Kantiang Bay, Koh Lanta

The first thing that I did was strip down into my bikini and swim in the sea. Now you must know that I am not a sea swimmer. Ever. This water is so calm and warm that it would be stupid not to! I’ve also hired a scooter for the next few days and will be exploring the island on my trusty zoot… because why not.

Picture 050

It’s been raining and overcast most of the time since I got here – the Candice curse, but nonethless there are plenty of little coffee shops and restaurants to just sit and take it all in.

Kantiang Bay Drunken Sailor

Thai Massage

Top View restaurant at the top of a steep hill has panoramic views of the bay that are breath-taking, literally! And the best part is that after a few beers, you just need to roll back down with little effort 😉 The evenings boast a band of locals singing all-time old Western favourites (Oasis and Nirvana are a must, of course) and our very own fire poi show…not bad at all… 

Top View Restaurant View

Fire Poi

I think that I will be staying here a while… and have a feeling that my posts are going to stop being named by day number as I am already starting to lose count of the days… Aaahhhhh…. sweet Thailand, how I have missed you!

Follow me on Twitter @PopcornCandi or hashtag #GoThai for snippets along the way.

Leave a Reply

