Today I learnt…this sh!t is real!

Today I learnt about real life. For 27 years I thought I was there, but I was somewhere else…somewhere easier and breezier. Somewhere with a pretty mask to cover the underlying struggle for something more, something better, something more meaningful. Well, after all this time I have found that something that I didn’t even know that I was looking for. I found my freedom and my untainted happiness. And it’s freaking scary!

You’re sitting there thinking “I’m not sure what this woman is on about, but sounds vaguely familiar”, aren’t you?

I remember sitting in meetings in my previous soul-destroying corporate job and doodling a sketch of a flower, always the same sketch, and imagining that I was somewhere else, doing something else that is meaningful to me.

Well now I am somewhere else, doing something else that is meaningful to me.

Meet ‘Social Ideas’:

social ideas on Facebook

I don’t want this to be a business punt on my blog, but rather a reflection on the risk I’m taking and reminding myself why I’m doing it. It is very, very real. Everything is a lot more difficult when you don’t have an IT department to fix something for you, or Accounts to advise you on anything, or even a printer. I’ve been learning a lot since I started working for myself – far more than the permanent corporate lifestyle could ever give me.

I know that I have a passion and I know that this passion can help others, so I do believe that I can make this work.

My message to you, though, is:

Life’s too short for ‘just okay’.

There is no reason to be miserable 5 days out of 7 every week. Find your passion and take that risk!

Oh yes, and follow Social Ideas on Twitter and Facebook, if that’s what you’re into 🙂 Please also keep me in mind when anyone mentions social media work – it will be greatly appreciated (businesses or individuals – I’m here to help and advise) – I couldn’t resist 😉

2 responses to “Today I learnt…this sh!t is real!

Leave a Reply

