Earthlings: The violent and heartbreaking truth about society’s treatment of animals

Earthlings’ documentary on the truth of society’s treatment of animals was brought to my attention by @claremelina recently. Human beings are @ssholes. Not all of us, but as a race in general, we really mess it up. As a vegetarian, I already don’t agree with the way that animals are treated and the impact of meat production on our world, but I usually steer clear of all those shocking ‘look how horribly animals are treated’ videos.

At first I decided that I didn’t want to watch even the trailer because I know the horrific way that animals are treated and I don’t need to see it with my own eyes to believe it.

I decided to eventually watch the trailer because it has been on my mind since then and I am sure I’ll be watching the full movie as well.

It’s important for us to remind ourselves why we do the things that we do and why we believe in what we do. Especially as a vegetarian in a meat-obsessed country where it is difficult to stick to your beliefs without having some form of mockery and disbelief directed your way. We need to FEEL the impact that we have on our world and this is what makes us human beings.

I urge you to watch just the trailer. It isn’t very long, but at least be informed – whether you eat meat or not. Just know what is happening out there. Let yourself as a human being feel…I think somewhere along the way that’s been lost.

One response to “Earthlings: The violent and heartbreaking truth about society’s treatment of animals

  • wohom

    I’ve been veg’n for over 26 years, and involved in animal rights just about as long. Even I found Earthlings, when I watched it two years ago, hard to watch. Nevertheless, it is a really important film. I recommend watching it with a group of people and discussing it together. I’d even recommend watching part of it, then stopping to discuss, to process, before continuing.

    Another really good animal rights film that I would recommend is The Witness (Tribe of Heart Documentary). The troubling parts of the film–images and video of animals being killed for their fur–comes in the second half of the film. The first half is about one man’s transformation to a vegan and animal rights activist through an experience he had while taking care of someone’s cat.

Leave a Reply

